Chocolate Swirls

Meditating on God’s Word: Draw It

You don’t have to be a professional artist to draw. Doodle or draw a picture that

  • captures a scene from the Bible;
  • conveys a biblical theme or truth;
  • or expresses a biblical truth in a contemporary setting.

Often a drawing can express something more deeply than written words. Drawing can convey something we may not realize until we see how we portray it.

Journaling can include drawings as well as written text. I keep an art journal and use collage techniques along with drawing and writing out Scriptures or personal thoughts about my spiritual life and growth.

When I began keeping an art journal, I was thrilled to find it meaningful and meditative. I can draw a little, however I added collage techniques and written journaling to create pages. Creating each page was an act of meditating on my life circumstances or Bible passages. As I was contemplating how to portray each concept, I would think and pray about it.

This is an important kinesthetic principle: having something to do with your hands helps your mind stay focused longer. Art gave me the ability to spend a larger amount of time thinking about a theme than I would have otherwise.

The act of creating is very personal and it gets to the heart of meditating. In fact, creating may be one of the purest forms of meditating.

This is an excerpt from Sweeter Than Chocolate: Developing a Healthy Addiction to God’s Word. Used by permission.


Video by The Bible Project

Here’s an example of using drawing to convey biblical truth. A lot of meditation (thinking about it) went into learning and drawing this Bible text.


Click button to go to signup page

Leave a comment