God's Chocolate Workout

Rest in Your Relationship with God

Always remember why you’re doing what you do. Don’t substitute activity for relationship. Nothing you do for God is more important than your relationship with God. While my focus here has been on obeying the Word, we tend to add on many other things in the name of serving God. Did the Bible say to do it? Or is someone pressuring you to do it?

We can easily think doing more for God makes us a better Christian. That’s simply not true. Jesus said, “On judgment day many will say to me, ‘Lord! Lord! We prophesied in your name and cast out demons in your name and performed many miracles in your name.’ But I will reply, ‘I never knew you. Get away from me, you who break God’s laws.’” (Matthew 7:22-23). Clearly, doing things for God is no substitute for a relationship with God.

Rather than increasing our activity, we rely on God’s strength to do the things that matter and let go of the things that don’t matter. Ask God to give you an eternal perspective on life. Let eternity, not the temporary things of this world, shape your priorities.

God does not place heavy burdens on us. He will not give us more than we can bear. Often, when we feel burdened, it is because we have taken on too much for ourselves—things He never asked us to take on.

Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light” (Matthew 11:28-30).

Take time to rest in your relationship with God. Slow down and savor the aroma of chocolate.

This is an excerpt from Sweeter Than Chocolate: Developing a Healthy Addiction to God’s Word. Used by permission.

 

Click button to go to signup page

Leave a comment