Chocoholics Anonymous

Chocoholics Anonymous: Enjoying a Life-long Love for God’s Word

“Hi, my name is Christy and I am a chocoholic. I can’t help it. I love chocolate. I love how it makes me feel. I think about it all the time. If I’m not eating chocolate, I’m dreaming about the next time I’ll be able to enjoy it. I have an addiction to chocolate.”

Sounds plausible, doesn’t it? When you love something, you think about it all the time. Does this next one sound reasonable?

“Hi, my name is Christy and I am a Bible-aholic. I can’t help it. I love the Bible. I love how it makes me feel. I think about it all the time. If I’m not reading the Bible, I’m dreaming about the next time I’ll be able to enjoy it. I have an addiction to the Bible.”

Does that one sound like you? Maybe not yet, but give it time and it could be.

Wouldn’t it be nice to develop a sweet addiction to God’s Word? You can grow to love God’s Word so much you could consider it an addiction.

I hope you spend time with God and His Word because you want to, not because you feel like you have to. Do you consider eating chocolate a duty or an act of love and adoration? Why should we feel any different about chocolate than we do about spending time with God in His Word?

So go ahead, sneak a chocolate curl off the top of the Psalms; hide under a blanket to eat God’s chocolate; snitch a bite here and there throughout the day; and enjoy a delightful chocolate dessert after dinner. That kind of indulgence will help you develop a healthy addiction to God’s chocolate.

After all, you are what you eat.

This is an excerpt from Sweeter Than Chocolate: Developing a Healthy Addiction to God’s Word. Used by permission.

 

Click button to go to signup page

Leave a comment